A great teenage dystopian tale ….

In Pure Julianna Baggott has written a complex dystopian tale of a post apocalyptic world. Pressia Belze has lived outside the Dome since the detonations that destroyed her world, her grandfather tells her of a past that she cannot remember but that will be very familiar to the reader.  She believes that life inside the Dome must be perfect compared to hers.  Partridge only knows that life under the regime of the Dome is not as easy as those outside might think.  When Pressia meets the revolutionary Bradwell she begins to accept that she and others on the outside have been lied to, and when Pressia, Bradwell and Partridge meet, the truth is slowly uncovered.

In this first book of a trilogy Baggott has created a fantastical and yet believable future in which the haves and the have-nots are locked in a deadly relationship. 

Pure; Julianna Baggott, (Headline £14.99)

About clare3bears

I am currently the Children's Books Manager for P&G Wells in Winchester, I have over 15 years experience of selling children's books and I also write reviews of new children's books for The Bookseller magazine. Children's books are one of my passions in life; reading was such an important part of my childhood; it opened up other worlds and faraway places. The experiences, adventures and emotional journeys that I shared with of all those fictional children have stayed with me, and made me the reader that I am today.
This entry was posted in Teenage Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment